The Viney Agency


David Downing I grew up in the London suburb of Harrow, then spent four years at Sussex University doing a  BA in Afro-Asian Studies and an MA in International Relations.  Between 1973 and 1976 I worked for one rock magazine and freelanced for several others. In 1974 I travelled overland to India via Iran and Afghanistan.

Between 1975 and 1987 I lived in inner London and my first published book, which grew out of the rock journalism, was Future Rock in 1975.  Since then I have worked as a freelance book writer.  In this period the books mostly alternated between modern culture (rock music and movies) or political/military history, but I also wrote two works of ‘faction’ – the WW2 alternative history The Moscow Option about the forward-looking Russian Revolution 1985.  I made three trips to the Soviet Union.

In 1987 my first real novel – the thriller The Red Eagles - was published in the US.  Over the next six years I was involved in the creation of an environmental centre in north-east London, and undertook two lengthy trips to South and Central America. From 1993 I lived in Boston, Massachusetts with my partner Nancy, who subsequently became my wife.  During five years in America I wrote umpteen SAS/SBS novels for Bloomsbury as David Monnery and a biography of Neil Young.

Since 1998 Nancy and I have lived in Guildford, UK.  I wrote three football books on my return, and then spent several years writing history books for children.  I have written six volumes of the John Russell series of espionage thrillers and a military history, Sealing Their Fate.

David Downing’s Jack of Spies was published to acclaim on both sides of the Atlantic in 2014. The sequel, One Man’s Flag was published in 2015 with the third volume, Lenin’s Roller Coaster published in 2017.

His critically acclaimed stand-alone spy story The Diary of a Dead Man on Leave was published by Soho Press in the US in 2019.


Wedding Station, the seventh volume of the Station series and a prequel to Zoo Station was published by Soho Press and Old Street in 2021.

Praise for Wedding Station


"Tensely satisfying . . . Downing excels at dramatizing the anxiety and dread pervading a society whose civil liberties are being daily eroded."
--Tom Nolan, The Wall Street Journal

"A stunning literary thriller."
--The Seattle Times

"Downing's Station series, six titles before Wedding Station, evoke the relentless terror of life in Berlin during World War II. Now, in a fierce and daring prequel, Downing reveals the back story to the propulsive series . . . An ideal choice for both Downing fans and newcomers."
--New York Journal of Books

"Chillingly resonant."
--Booklist, Starred Review


"A litany of sordid crimes that are both a MacGuffin for and a window into a chilling, compelling era."
--Kirkus Reviews


Union Station, the eighth and concluding volume in the series will publish in 2023.


The prequel to David Downing's bestselling Station series introduces John Russell, an Englishman with a political past who must keep his head down as the Nazis solidify their power.

February 27, 1933. In this stunning prequel to the John Russell espionage novels, the Reichstag parliament building in Berlin is set ablaze. It's just a month after Hitler's inauguration as Chancellor of Germany, and the Nazis use the torching to justify a campaign of terror against their political opponents. John Russell's recent separation from his wife threatens his right to reside in Germany and any meaningful relationship with his six-year-old son, Paul. He has just secured work as a crime reporter for a Berlin newspaper, and the crimes which he has to report--the gruesome murder of a rent boy, the hit-and-run death of a professional genealogist, the suspicious disappearance of a Nazi-supporting celebrity fortune-teller--are increasingly entangled in the wider nightmare engulfing Germany.

Each new investigation carries the risk of Russell's falling foul of the authorities, at a time when the rule of law has completely vanished, and the Nazis are running scores of pop-up detention centers, complete with torture chambers, in every corner of Berlin.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:Wedding Station, (Soho US, old Street UK 2021); Diary of a Dead Man on Leave (Soho Crime 2019); Lenin's Roller Coaster, (Soho Crime, 2017); One Man's Flag, (Soho Crime, 2015); Jack of Spies, (Old Street/Soho (US) 2013);  Masaryk Station,  Lehrter Station, (Old Street/ Soho (US), 2012/13); Potsdam Station (Old Street and Soho Press, 2010/11); Sealing Their Fate: Twenty-two Days that Decided the Second World War (Simon & Schuster (UK), Da Capo (US), 2009); Stettin Station (Old Street and Soho Pres(US), 2009/10), Silesian Station (Old Street and Soho Pres (US), 2008), Zoo Station (Old Street and Soho Pres (US), 2007;  Republika, (Poland) English v Argentina (Piatkus, 2003; Emecé, 2006); The Best of Enemies: England v Germany (Bloomsbury, 2000), Passovotchka (Bloomsbury, 1999) – history of 1945 Moscow Dynamo tour of UK, Dreamer of Pictures: Neil Young (Bloomsbury, 1994; Da Capo (US); Rittor (Japan); Goldmann (Germany), The Red Eagles (Macmillan (US), 1987), Robert Mitchum (W.H. Allen, 1985), Marlon Brando (W.H. Allen, 1984; Stein & Day (US)), Jack Nicholson (W.H. Allen, 1983; Stein & Day (US)), Russian Revolution 1985 (New English Library, 1983), Robert Redford (W.H. Allen, 1982; St Martins (US)), Charles Bronson (W.H. Allen, 1982), Atlas of Territorial and Border Disputes (New English Library, 1980), Jane Fonda: All-American Anti-Heroine (Omnibus, 1980) (with Gary Herman), The Moscow Option (New English Library, 1979; St Martins (US); Greenhill, 2002), War without End, Peace without Hope: 30 Years of the Arab-Israeli Conflict (New English Library, 1978) (with Gary Herman), Clint Eastwood: All-American Anti-Hero (Omnibus, 1978) (with Gary Herman), The Devil’s Virtuosos: German Generals at War (New English Library, 1977; St Martins (US); Playboy (US)), Future Rock (Panther, 1976).